Seawright honors women in community

| 28 Mar 2016 | 12:41

Residents of the Upper East Side, along with Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney, attended the Second Annual Women of Distinction Awards ceremony at the community office of Assembly Member Rebecca A. Seawright honoring six local women for their outstanding work and dedication to the community.

Recipients included:

* Loraine Brown, a member of Community Board 8, where she serves as co-chair of the Housing committee.

* Alice Heyman, best known as the founder of the First Women’s Bank. She has dedicated her life to women empowerment and volunteerism with organizations like the East Sixties Neighborhood Association Citizen Response Team.

* Zoe Markowitz, the youngest member of Community Board 8, where she serves on the Land Use and Youth and Education Committees. Zoe has also worked with U.S. Senator Charles Schumer and advocates for seniors on the DOROT Next Generation Teen Council.

* Margie Smith, a lifetime New Yorker and longtime Roosevelt Island resident. She is chair of the Governance Advisory Committee and a member of the Operations Committee of RIOC. Currently, she is also the Director of Administration for one of the largest brand licensing companies in the world.

* Ellen Polivy, an activist on Community Board 8, serving as a host on CB8 Speaks. Polivy is an activist in her own community as co-chair of Roosevelt Island Community Coalition and former president of the Roosevelt Island Residents Association.

* Eileen Toback, a labor advocate, coalition leader and campaign organizer, currently serving as executive director of the New York Professional Nurses Union, advocating for safe staffing of nurses and quality patient care.